University of Minnesota
Department of Psychology

Department of Psychology

Spotlight News

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Bruce Overmier, who was awarded an Outstanding Graduate Teaching of Psychology as a Core STEM Discipline Award for 2014.

Rich Lee

Emeritus Professor Bruce Overmier was selected by APA Board of Education Affairs (BEA), as one of two winners of the Outstanding Graduate Teaching of Psychology as a Core STEM Discipline Award for 2014. This is the inaugural year for this new award.

According to the APA, the award "recognizes the contributions of a graduate-level professor whose teaching contributions exemplify psychology as a core science among the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Teaching contributions include excellence in mentoring of graduate students, outstanding teaching both within the university and beyond in the broader community of psychological scientists, and effective leadership roles that foster the educational mission of advancing psychology as a core STEM discipline at the doctoral level. Also considered were the candidate's own scientific contributions to psychology, and how they have affected the production of psychological scientists who have pursued scholarship in basic psychological science."

Congratulations to Bruce! We are very proud to share this accomplishment.

Professor Jeffry Simspon interview in!

Jeff Simpson

Professor Jeffry Simspon interview in titled "Dr. Jeffry Simpson: The Go-To Source on Romantic Attachment Theory" by Hayley Matthews.

"TL;DR: When it comes to attachment theory and its effects on relationships, few people better understand the subject than Dr. Jeffry Simpson, a psychology professor at the University of Minnesota who's been in the field for more than 28 years."

Congratulations to Professor Rich Lee, who was awarded an Arthur "Red" Motley Exemplary Teaching Award for the 2013-14 year.

Rich Lee

This award is sponsored by a gift from the family and friends of College of Liberal Arts alumnus Arthur Motley and other alumni of the college. It recognizes CLA faculty who are outstanding teachers of graduate and undergraduate students, who are approachable, show a strong level of caring for the success of individual students, and who facilitate an active learning environment in their classrooms. Rich was nominated for this award by his current and former students.

Congratulations to Professor Bob Krueger, who was just named a Distinguished McKnight University Professor!

Bob Krueger

Professor Bob Krueger was one of six candidates selected for this prestigious award from across the entire University. The award honors the University's highest-achieving mid-career faculty who have relatively recently attained full professor status and whose work brings renown and prestige to Minnesota. Recipients are honored with the title Distinguished McKnight University Professor, which they hold for as long as they remain at the University of Minnesota.

Congratulations to Professor Tom Brothen, who received the 2014 Walter D. Mink Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award from the Minnesota Psychological Association (MPA).

Tom Brothen

Tom's greatest interest and passion has been Introductory Psychology, which he first taught as an instructor in the University of Minnesota's General College in 1971. He proceeded to teach the course more or less continuously for 43 full years! He currently serves in the role of faculty director of our Introduction to Psychology course (Psy 1001). Taken by approximately 2,400 students every year, this is by far the largest course offered at the University. Tom has also re-introduced a course on the HIstory of Psychology.

Congratulations to Professor Bill Iacono has been selected to receive the John Neale Mentorship Award for 2014 from the Society for Research in Psychopathology (SRP)

Bill Iacono

Professor Bill Iacono has a sustained record of training productive clinical scientists, and this award honors him for this outstanding achievement. Professor Bill Iacono is the 4th recipient of this highly selective award. Information about SRP and the award description can be found here. Congratulations to Bill and to the CSPR program! Mentorship is one of our most important roles as faculty members. It is heartening for one of our own to be recognized in this way!

Congratulations Professor Gene Borgida, who was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)!

Gene Borgida

Gene was the only University of Minnesota - Twin Cities faculty to achieve this honor and the only social psychologist in the United States within this year's round. In all, the AAAS Council elected 388 members as Fellows across scientific disciplines. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions at the Fellows Forum held on 15 February 2014 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Congratulations to Gene on this much-deserved honor!

The Department of Psychology is happy to announce our undergraduates who have received the Sharon Borine Award for Fall 2014.

Mike Swenson's paper "Redefining the Eyewitness: An Examination and Proposed Solution to The Cross-Race Effect in Eyewitness Identifications" has been chosen as the First Place recipient of the Sharon Borine Award!


Tori SimenecTori Simenec's paper "Investigating the Relationship Between Adverse Experiences and Memory in Children" has been chosen as the Second Place recipient of the Sharon Borine Award!

Klara ManningKlara Manning's paper " A Comparison of Autism Spectrum Disorder and Anorexia Nervosa: Examining the Gender Gap" has been chosen as the Third Place recipient of the Sharon Borine Award!

There are currently no events scheduled.

What's New

  • Emeritus Professor Bruce Overmier Selected Winner of the Outstanding Graduate Teaching of Psychology as a Core STEM Discipline Award for 2014
    (Continue Reading)June 30th, 2014
  • Professor Richard Lee Interviewed for Gazillion Voices Magazine
    (Continue Reading)June 30th, 2014
  • Emeritus Professor Irving Gottesman Named One of 30 Most Influential Psychologists Working Today
    (Continue Reading)June 30th, 2014
  • Emeritus Professor Irving Gottesman Named One of 30 Most Influential Psychologists Working Today
    (Continue Reading)June 30th, 2014
  • Psychology Undergraduate Engagement Awards, Summer 2014
    (Continue Reading)June 27th, 2014

View all news