University of Minnesota
Department of Psychology

Department of Psychology's home page.


July 2014

Administrative Updates & Announcements

Faculty - Please keep the Chair's Office updated with your emergency contact information via intranet form located here. If you already provided this information to the Chair's Office via Google form as a result of our recent request, you do not need to provide it again (only when your information changes).

Awards & Accomplishments

Professor Alex Rothman was elected President-Elect of American Psychological Association's Division 38 (Division of Health Psychology). He will serve as President of the Division during 2015-2016.

Professor Richard Lee was interviewed for Gazillion Voices, an online magazine for their podcast which will also be broadcast on KFAI in the near future.

Emeritus Professor Bruce Overmier has been selected by APA's Board of Education Affairs (BEA) as one of two winners of the Outstanding Graduate Teaching of Psychology as a Core STEM Discipline Award for 2014. This is the inaugural year for this new award. According to the APA, the award "recognizes the contributions of a graduate-level professor whose teaching contributions exemplify psychology as a core science among the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines. Teaching contributions include excellence in mentoring of graduate students, outstanding teaching both within the university and beyond in the broader community of psychological scientists, and effective leadership roles that foster the educational mission of advancing psychology as a core STEM discipline at the doctoral level. Also considered were the candidate's own scientific contributions to psychology, and how they have affected the production of psychological scientists who have pursued scholarship in basic psychological science."

Emeritus Professor Irving Gottesman was named one of the 30 most influential psychologists working today by website Best Masters in Psychology.

Two undergraduate majors were selected as recipients for the Summer 2014 Donor Awards for Psychology Undergraduate Engagement. This recognition comes with a $500 monetary award. Nicole Kaegi will be volunteering with Walker's Point Youth and Family Center in Milwaukee, WI in their Runaway and Crisis Teen Program and Shelter. Nicole will be working as a counselor assistant and a positive adult role model for the teenagers in the shelter. Lauren Zima will be observing Occupational Therapy sessions in an inpatient rehabilitation setting through MarionJoy Rehabilitation Hospital in Wheaton, IL. Lauren will use this opportunity to better inform herself about the OT profession and serve as a source of support for patients.


Congratulations to our May 2014 Ph.D. graduate!

Rachel Burns
Area: Social
Advisor: Alexander Rothman
Dissertation Title: Can We Pay People to Act Healthily? Testing the Relative Effectiveness of Incentive Dimensions and Underlying Psychological Mediators

Bo-Yeong Won
Area: Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Advisor: Yuhong Jiang
Dissertation Title: Visual statistical learning and its impact on spatial attention."

Chair's Office

Monica Luciana
N210 EltH - 625-7873

Pat Frazier
Associate Chair
N571 EltH - 625-6863

Jonathan Gewirtz
Associate Chair
S245 EltH - 625-6653

Guillermo De Paz
N210 EltH - 625-7852

Orbe Stricherz
Assistant to the Chair
N210 EltH - 625-7873

Heidi Wolff
Executive Ofc & Admin Specialist
S248 EltH - 626-3171


Submit material for DATA

June 2014 DATA

May 2014 DATA

April 2014 DATA

Mar 2014 DATA

Feb 2014 DATA

Jan 2014 DATA

Dec 2013 DATA

Nov 2013 DATA

Oct 2013 DATA

Sept 2013 DATA